death…to the left.

today i have been reading and studying John 11 and the story of Lazarus. i have heard this story many times, but diving into it myself brought a whole new revelation. get ready!

something i learned while studying was Lazarus means “whom God helps”. in verse 1 we learn that Lazarus lived in a village named Bethany. Bethany means “house of misery”. these name meanings rocked my world. have you ever felt like your name didn’t match up with your environment? for example, you know you are called globally, or to be a missionary, yet you currently reside in a small city with small minds. infuse your identity into the atmosphere around you. people could be depending on your progressive thinking.

what totally knocked my socks off was verse 4: “But when Jesus heard it he said, This illness does not lead to death. It is for the glory of God, so that the Son of God may be glorified through it.” i don’t know about you, but this one verse spoke volumes in my life today! it brought hope. whatever you may be facing (sickness, disease, financial calamity, unemployment, mental breakdown, relationship issues, loneliness, etc.)…i have news for you: DEATH DOES NOT HAVE THE ADVANTAGE. death doesn’t make the last call! death…to the left. in fact, my Bible says “God works all things together for the good.” (Romans 8:28). the circumstances you may be facing will not lead to death, but to give a witness that you came THROUGH it and the Son of God may be glorified. there is purpose in your pain.

the very next verse, verse 5 starts with “Now Jesus loved…” Isn’t that a comfort? That despite ourselves, He loves us. i want to remind you that whatever hell you may be going through in your life, in this present moment, He loves you. He’s right there with us in the middle of our messes. “He will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Deuteronomy 31:6).

that’s some incredible stuff. i am blown away at how the breathing Word of God speaks into my current circumstances. IT’S NOT OVER! encourage yourself today by remembering His faithfulness to us. thank you for reading!

– tony // @AsToldByTony

#TeamSpeakOverYourself

2 thoughts on “death…to the left.

  1. Thanks for the info that you found when you read and studied Luke 11. You know that we do not always really mediate and study what we are reading, when we read the Bible. This reminds me that I need to study what I am reading and study my scriptures better and if I need to read it for more than 1 day, read it until you understand it.

  2. Wow. I LOVEEEE this. I’m totally using it, I hope you don’t mind. LOL!! “Death, to the left” Great stuff, Tony. I miss you tons, and in lieu of your most recent post, I’m praying for peace in your life!! LOL… I have no idea what that’s all about, but I hope that whomever may have twisted your message would experience and recognize the power of God in their lives. Amen, yes? Talk to you soon!!

Leave a Reply

