fruit.

John 15:1-17

fruit. we all want it. we all want to bear it in our lives. and we all have produced some sort of fruit in our lives – flourishing or foul. i’ve heard this “bearing fruit” concept in my life, but didn’t fully grasp it. i witnessed others in my life receiving abundant opportunities or unexpected blessings and examined their walk with the Lord (from the outsider’s perspective, obviously). my next action was to examine myself, asking: how do i get there? or am i there? how do i bear much fruit?

v. 4 – “abide in Me, and I in you”. it’s a simple concept i’ve heard many times. being in total accord with the Father. EVERY facet of our being is called for divine purpose for the kingdom. God desires for every one of us to gain a fulfilling and abundant life – full of fruit. we must desire that as well, not just to receive the fruit, but to be intricately woven within God in every part of our lives. a deep desire to be His.

v. 8 – “By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.” give it a day…a couple hours…heck, moments! by totally abiding with the Father there is no option BUT to worship Him. to worship God is a lifestyle, not a switch we can turn on and off. when people look at you and examine you, are you a model of worship? in everything we do, we must give Him all the glory. and i love the last part of verse 8: and so prove to be my disciples. to be the chosen disciples of God we must glorify Him. what an honor, when you think about it.

v. 9 & 10 – “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in His love.” it all comes full circle for me here. along with abiding with Christ in a lifestyle of worship, love is in tandem with it all. to worship God is to abide with Him. to love God and His people is to abide with Him. God is love. we are also called to love our neighbor as we love ourselves.

i admire how Jesus covers all dimensions here. to be fruitful, we must abide with the Father and worship Him whole-heartedly (vertical) and actively obtain unrestrained love for the Father and the body of Christ (horizontal). He leaves nothing out: immersing yourself in the supernatural of abiding and experiencing the natural of love.

i challenge you to really try to get to that place of abiding with Christ. it truly is a challenge, even for myself. with the constant distractions of life, its so very difficult. but do not let those distractions dictate the time you become fully in tune with God. i promise you, it’s a fruitful (full of fruit) encounter!

there is so much more to this chunk of scripture that is THE BOMB! check it out and let me know what jumps out to you! i pray that you have a HAPPY Monday, blog buddies! thanks for reading.

– tony // @AsToldByTony

Leave a Reply

