weeding out :: a WE process.

Throughout this time in my left, particularly this final semester of my undergraduate degree at Lee University, I have learned more about myself, my relationships with others, and ultimately my relationship with the Lord. I am writing this VERY TRANSPARENT blog to express some of this knowledge I have acquired.

If I were to label this season in my life it would be “transition”. I have been transitioning in many areas of my life this semester, some by choice others by force. Earlier this semester, I was seeking the face of God about a particular situation. I fasted, prayed and even retreated away from everything – technology and all! The Lord specifically told me what to do and in order for me to do what He commanded, I would have to get out of my comfort zone. So, I immediately kinda brushed it off and didn’t think anything of it. Well, the Lord gets what He wants. This situation happened exactly like the Lord wanted it. I was distraught, yet I sought his face and He told me what to do, but I didn’t listen. I now realize how necessary that was. This is just one of the many “weeding out” examples that has taken place over this recent period in my life.

Ya see, during that “retreat” away from the world and my seeking God, I prayed “LORD, whatever is wedging between you and me – weed it out of my life! Anything that is not of Your Word, Your Will, or Your Way for my life – weed it out!” Something I have learned through all of this is that even the things that you think are blessings in your life are up for weeding out if it takes the place of your relationship with God.

“FOCUS. Not on what you have lost, but what you are about to gain – the promises of God.” This is a word I received from the Lord and still hang on to through this transitional season in my life. Through this time in my life, the Lord has weeded out many friendships, relationships, addictions, and almost every foundational piece that has been apart of my life for years. I have been stripped away from everything that has been comfortable in my life. I have become so stripped that at times the ONLY thing I can do is talk to God, read the Word, or meditate on all He is doing. I am learning to be comfortable in my uncomfortableness. I am learning it’s okay to not be in the social scene and live it up with friends every night, but instead sit in my room. alone. just me and Him.

“Weeding out is a WE process.” This is a word I received just today. As a child of God, I am required to take action. I am called to live and walk in the Spirit DAILY. I must do that. It is impossible to live by the Spirit and live in sin at the same time. So why not choose the Spirit? I cannot just rely on God to do all the work in weeding out. I must make an effort to run to God daily.

I write all this to say that this season in my life has become one that I will never forget. There are times when the devil has made me feel lonely, depressed, overwhelmed, confused, and tired. But I must keep reminding myself to FOCUS and that He is my keeper. I have no idea what the future of my life may be, but I do know that I will follow Christ.
:::Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.:::

“SEARCH for SALVATION over SIN.” I also want to note the importance of potential. I have grown so much in this short time. I have learned life lessons and spiritual principles that will be applied to my everyday life. I am not who I was prior to this “transitional” season. I have personally experienced recently the idea of looking at an individual’s salvation rather than sin. We all have had skeletons in our closet and crap that has been hand-delivered by the devil himself in our lives. Why must we look at all the sin that one has done in the past instead of looking at the powerful potential that one has in Christ?
:::2 Corinthians 5:17 This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!:::

As I wrap up this blog, I want to express my gratitude to God. Although Satan has tried attacking me in this desperate time in my life, God has promised me full restoration after this process and season is over. My reputation will be restored. My motivation will be restored. My relationships will be restored. I WILL BE RESTORED. Thanks be to God for all He is bringing me through and teaching me.
Be Encouraged. Keep it Positive.

Leave a Reply

